polka dot peg doll

After many hours searching for red and white striped straws at an affordable price ( why are they so inflated?), I clearly had red and white fever!

This is one of those projects that came about without any real planning…just a desire to make something!

I hope that the following pictures and words are explanation enough should you wish to remake!

I used a transfer for the peg doll’s face, as I had some left over from previous peg doll makes!

Fine markers can be used to create a face full of personality with hair to match!

Once you have sewn to the end of the cup cake liner, pull your thread gently to ruffle up the skirt some more.

Place the peg doll into the centre of the ruffled liner, pull (gently!) to close around the peg and secure with a couple of stitches.

I decided to use embroidery thread in a contrasting colour to make a feature but it would be just as easy to use matching thread to avoid this.

This would make a simple summer project for a beginner sewer…the potential for variation is huge!

I have mine displayed on my bedside table: she makes me smile.

Thank-you for reading.

Leave a Reply

