needle books + ruffles= the remakery

Each week at the remakery I make a table centrepiece; this week I decided to make a crepe paper ruffle!

Using the tutorial from

http://www.danamadeit.com/2011/05/tutorial-ruffled-streamers.html

The ruffle was easy and quick to sew. Dana’s instructions regarding tension and stitch length were spot on! I did also (as she suggested) hold on to the thread whilst stitching and this really made effective ruffles!

The girls at the remakery loved the ruffle…using it as a headdress and scarf as well as for the intended table decor!

This week we focused on making needle books. The girls chose their own fabrics and used templates to cut out the correct sizes.

Using a simple running stitch down the centre of both pieces of fabric created a needle book!

A piece of ribbon was sewn securely at either end to tie the book together, and the girls proudly displayed a selection of pins and their sewing needle!

I was impressed with how carefully they made their fabric and ribbon selections; for them this was very important!

I also realised, that for them, the work before the actual sewing does not equate with the precision that they want!

I don’t think that ‘perfect’ is important, but they do, and so are often disappointed if their cutting is a little wonky or their stitches are not ‘neat’.

It is a thin line between stressing the importance of the preparation and the importance of creativity, individuality and fun!

I do also recognise that success breeds enjoyment and encourages us to ‘have a go’ at the next project. This is why I want my sewing groups to be about creating an end product and not a series of ‘lessons’.

For next week’s session I let the girls choose between a t-shirt monster, an apron and a bag.

The overwhelming answer was a t-shirt monster…can’t wait…a chance for some real individuality with this kind of project!

Thank-you for reading.

4 comments on “needle books + ruffles= the remakery

  1. The needle books are lovely! 🙂

  2. theremakery says:

    Thank-you very much for your comment. The girls worked very hard on them!

  3. Your needle book looks fabulous! I love it! I have nominated you for the Kreative blogger award and thought you may want to check it out. Have a great day!

  4. theremakery says:

    Hi Jeanna, thank-you for your kind comment. I have had a good look around your blog and it really is ‘my cup of tea’. I love that you are self taught too!

Leave a Reply

