thrift and find

I love thrifting! The thrill of the unknown…the possibilty of finding something pretty, something useful, something unexpected, something joyful.

I love the variety. There is a whole new collection every few days: no waiting for weeks for new stock.  A buzz everytime.

Today’s little haul was quite a mixture..a a bit of this and a bit of that.

The ‘Make do and Mend’ book is from 1943; a beautiful pink cover and really evocative images.

Two sample pots of Farrow and Ball paint! Such yummy colours and perfect for prettifying some old wooden boxes.

My eyes were immediately on stalks when I spied this Liberty print skirt! Sadly it is a girl’s skirt, and no match for my waist, but the fabric potential is delightful.

Finally three pretty Pyrex bowls to add to my collection…always a joy to find.

Not quite sure how the carrot and orange muffin made it into my basket; I figured that it would make a good photo prop before consumption! Scrummy.

Thank-you for reading.

4 comments on “thrift and find

  1. kate says:

    that ‘make do and mend’ book is gorgeous! I would probably frame it!

  2. theremakery says:

    Hi Kate, what a great idea! I always buy things and never quite know how to use them in everyday life. Framing would be perfect!
    I saw the booklet in the shop window at about 11am, frustrated that they didn’t open until 12!
    A coffee and a short walk later I was back on the stroke of midday!
    Thanks for commenting.

  3. Love pyrex bowls too- they are usually plentiful at antique stores, with high prices to match. Sounds like you got a good deal on them!

    • theremakery says:

      Hi, thank-you for taking the time to comment! I too love pyrex bowls ( these were 50p each!)

      Such a thrill to find them and a bigger thrill when the price is right!

Leave a Reply

